You are hereEvents / Legislative / Education Interim Committee Meeting

Education Interim Committee Meeting

- Posted on June 04, 2018

Capitol Building
Room 137
Helena, MT
Start Date
June 14, 2018
End Date
June 15, 2018
June 14-15, 2018
22 weeks 1 day ago

The Education Interim Committee will be meeting June 14th and 15th in room 137 of the Capitol Building in Helena. 

During the morning of Thursday, June 14, the committee will receive various K-12 updates and hear from members of the Montana Advisory Council on Indian Education.

After lunch, the committee members will take a look at the basics of Comprehensive School and Community Treatment (CSCT) a program that utilizes Medicaid funding to provide mental health services for students. The committee will spend the reminder of the afternoon reviewing its bill draft requests related to the House Joint Resolution No. 1 study of funding for educational programs serving students with special needs and to some general school funding clean up. Memos explaining the bill drafts and the bill drafts themselves are posted to the committee website.

On Friday, June 15, the committee will spend the first part of the morning on higher education, meeting and hearing from new campus officials, President Seth Bodnar from the University of Montana and Chancellor Dan Edelman from MSU – Billings. The committee will then hear about the work of its Subcommittee on State Financial Aid Programs and consider possibilities for moving that work forward.

The second half of Friday morning will focus on the state of broadband connectivity for K-12 schools, an update from the Montana Digital Academy, and a report on dual enrollment opportunities for high school students. The committee will conclude the meeting with a working lunch/work session examining its work plan for the final meeting of the interim and continuing its discussions on any findings and recommendations, committee reports, and bill drafts related to the committee’s work.

Senate members appointed to the committee are Tom Facey, D-Missoula; Edie McClafferty, D-Butte; Dan Salomon, R-Ronan; and Russ Tempel, R-Chester. House members are Fred Anderson, R-Great Falls; Jacob Bachmeier, D-Havre; Moffie Funk, D-Helena; and Don Jones, R-Billings. The committee is chaired by Sen. McClafferty with Rep. Anderson serving as vice chair.

The meeting will be live streamed at and will be broadcast on Television Montana (TVMT.) Please check your local channel listings to find TVMT in your area.

For more information about the meeting, including a full agenda, visit the committee’s website by clicking the link below or contact Pad McCracken, committee staff: or (406) 444-3595.

Download Materials on the MT Legislature Website