You are hereLegislative / Interim Updates / Efficiency in Government / Legislative Committee to Pursue Efficiencies in Government

Legislative Committee to Pursue Efficiencies in Government

Posted Date: 
February 2, 2012
Dave Bohyer, Committee Staff

HELENA -- The Select Committee on Efficiency in Government, commissioned by the 2011 Legislature to seek to identify and implement efficiencies in state government programs and processes, will meet February 6 and 7, 2012, on the MSU campus in the Student Union Building, Ballroom B. The general topics of discussion will include ways to implement or enhance government efficiency and effectiveness in three public policy areas:

  • health care, including Medicaid;
  • technology; and
  • natural resources.

On Monday, February 6, at 10 a.m., the Subcommittee on Natural Resources will hear from Mr. Richard Opper, Director, Department of Environmental Quality, about DEQ's online services and plans for the future and from Mr. Jack Schunke of Morrison-Maierle, Inc., about how DEQ's online resources intersect with Morrison-Maierle. Legislative staff will also brief the Subcommittee on file transfer services and moving large amounts of information and on a stakeholder outreach proposal. The Subcommittee will discuss its work plan and make recommendations to the full Committee for focusing the natural resources portion of the larger study. Sen. Jim Keane, D-Butte, chairs the Subcommittee and is joined by Sens. Ed Buttrey, R-Great Falls, and Ed Walker, R-Billings, and Reps. Ron Ehli, R-Hamilton, Galen Hollenbaugh, D-Helena, and Kathleen Williams, D-Bozeman.

At 1 p.m. Sen. Jon Sonju, R-Kalispell, will convene the full Select Committee, at which time Mr. Blake Bjornson, MSU Student Body President, will welcome the members to MSU. Two panels will follow the welcome, the first comprised of Gallatin-area officials speaking to efficiencies at state-local government intersections. The panel includes: Mr. Sean Becker, Bozeman City Commission and Mayor; Mr. Earl Mathers, County Administrator/CAO, Gallatin County; Mr. Kirk Miller, Superintendent, Bozeman School District; and Mr. Jeff Rupp, Gallatin County Human Resource Development Council.

The second panel will discuss "State Government Efficiency: What's Working, What Needs Improvement", from the business perspective. This panel is comprised of Mr. Chris Naumann, Executive Director, Downtown Business Partnership; Mr. Stuart Leidner, Executive Director, Prospera Business Network; Ms. Jan Brown, Executive Director, Yellowstone Business Partnership; and Mr. Daryl Schleim, Executive Director of the Bozeman Chamber of Commerce. Rep. Kathleen Williams, Bozeman, will moderate both panels.

Tuesday morning, Feb. 7, at 8 a.m., the Technology Subcommittee will meet in SUB Ballroom B. The Subcommittee agenda includes: Mr. Dick Clark, CIO, Department of Administration, giving an update on the partnership between State ITSD and the University System; Ms. Tammy LaVigne, Deputy CIO, Mr. Al Parisian, CIO at the Montana State Fund, and Ms. Barbara Smith, Statewide Fiscal Specialist, Legislative Fiscal Division, briefing members on the status of the State Data Center. Ms. Smith will also report on technology matters involving boards/commissions, the Montana State Fund, private business, and follow-up on ROI on electronic storage and regarding statutory changes. Rep. Galen Hollenbaugh chairs the Subcommittee and will moderate the members' discussion of the Montana Information Technology Act (MITA) audit and Statewide Strategic Plan for Information Technology. Other members of the Subcommittee include: Sens. Jon Sonju and Ed Buttrey and Reps. Ron Ehli, R-Hamilton, Scott Reichner, R-Bigfork, and Kathleen Williams.

The full Select Committee reconvenes at 9:45 a.m. on Tuesday, again in SUB Ballroom B, at which time Montana State University President Waded Cruzado will welcome the Committee members and guests. Subsequently, the Committee will hear a panel discussing "Innovative Natural Resource Technology". Rep. Kathleen Williams will moderate the panel, comprised of: Mr. Evan Barrett, Economic Development Director, Governor's Office; Mr. Steven Corrick, Communications Director, Algae Aquaculture Technology (ACCT); Mark Reinsel, President, Apex Engineering, PLLC; and Ms. Becky Mahurin, Director of Technology Transfer, MSU.
The Committee's final activity for the meeting will be hearing reports from the Natural Resources Subcommittee, the Technology Subcommittee, and the Health Care/Medicaid Subcommittee. The Committee may take executive action on any of the Subcommittees' or the public's suggestions or recommendations.

The public will be given an opportunity to speak to the Committee and Subcommittees during each meeting component. Written comments are recommended but not required.

In the spirit of efficiency, the Committee urges anyone wanting to attend the meeting to use Bozeman's Streamline bus system. Bozeman’s Bridger Park Garage and the bus transfer center are co-located, on North Black, between Main and Mendenhall. On a first-come, first-served basis, the Committee will cover the cost of parking at Bridger Park Garage through a parking validation card. A card can be obtained at the meeting site, Ballroom B in the MSU Student Union Building.  More information is available on the Streamline web site or at the Committee's web page

The meeting agenda is available at the Committee's Web site, Other meeting materials are posted to the site as they become available.

Dave Bohyer | | 406-444-3592