Skip to main content
Published April 2, 2020

On April 2nd, the Montana Department of Administration distributed FFY 2019 Federal Forest Reserve funds (Secure Rural Schools/SRS payments) to the counties, according to the allocation spreadsheet linked below. These funds are received from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service and are associated with CFDA # 10.665 (Schools and Roads – Grants to States).

The funds should be allocated in accordance with MCA 17-3-213 (2).  This allocation is 66 2/3% to the general road fund and 33 1/3% to the countywide school levies. The fund distribution worksheet is linked below.

Please submit a copy of your A101 form by May 1, 2020 to the Director’s Office of Finance & Budget.  Electronically to is preferred, however, if you do not have the capability to send PDF files you can still mail them to the address listed below, attention Lori Carroll (contact information: 406- 444-3821)

Please note: To comply with the Single Audit Act regarding monitoring of subrecipients of federal grants, the Department of Administration will be requesting additional documentation throughout the year regarding the use of the Federal Forest Reserve funds distributed.  You will be notified, and additional instructions will be given at that time.

SRS was reauthorized for FFY 2019 (payment year FY 2020) and FFY 2020 (payment year FY 2021) by the Further Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2020 (P.L. 116-94), which was signed by President Trump on December 20, 2019.

Lori Carroll | DOA Director’s Office of Finance & Budget | | (406) 444-3821