Montana State Holidays

The following is a list of legal holidays and the dates most state offices will observe them. If a holiday falls on Sunday, the Monday following is the observed holiday.  If the holiday falls on Saturday, the preceding Friday is the observed holiday.  State primary election days are not legal state holidays.  For more information regarding the administration of state employees’ holiday benefits, see policy number 03-0325 of the Montana Operations Manual and sections 1-1-216 and 2-18-603, MCA.

2024

Holiday Date
New Year’s Day Monday, January 1
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 15
President’s Day Monday, February 19
Memorial Day Monday, May 27
Independence Day Thursday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 2
Columbus Day Monday, October 14
State & Federal General Election Day Tuesday, November 5
Veterans’ Day Monday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 28
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 25

2025

Holiday Date
New Year’s Day Wednesday, January 1
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 20
President’s Day Monday, February 17
Memorial Day Monday, May 26
Independence Day Friday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 1
Columbus Day Monday, October 13
Veterans’ Day Tuesday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 27
Christmas Day Thursday, December 25