MACo’s Resolutions & Legislative Committee reviews all resolutions that go through our legislative process and assigns them to committees for initial membership vetting. This committee also focuses on elections, administration, and other important functions required to effectively manage the services counties provide.

Committee Policy Statements

Committee policy statements are a compilation of various issues and/or beliefs, which members have identified as major concerns and goals of county government. A “policy statement” provides guidance to staff, legislators, and the public on MACo’s position regarding possible legislation and/or issues that may arise during a legislative session and/or the Interim.

Resolutions & Legislative Committee Policy Statements

MACo’s basic objective is to strengthen county government in order to effectively manage the services they provide. County government is a subdivision of the state government with legislative, judicial, and administrative powers. Counties have the specific responsibility to protect the health, safety, and welfare of county citizens through programs and services funded and provided at the local level. Such essential services must be controlled at the local level to fit the needs unique to each county.

  1. MACo believes that cooperation and coordination among various agencies and branches of government is essential.
  2. MACo supports efforts to coordinate services and develop methods to jointly administer programs. Counties must participate in the decision-making process whenever state mandates are proposed.
  3. MACo supports legislation to fund the ongoing maintenance of the voter database system and/or election equipment funded through the Secretary of State either from the Montana general fund or federal pass-through funds.
  4. MACo supports efforts to adopt a statewide system of vote-by-mail elections and allowing counties to conduct federal elections by mail ballot.
  5. MACo supports requiring ballots be received by 8 p.m. on Election Day.
  6. MACo believes that county government authority under state law should be liberally construed, with county government having the authority to perform activities not specifically prohibited under state law for the purpose of protecting the health, welfare and safety of county residents.
  7. MACo encourages legislation that would provide for the creative use of contracting for services as a way to provide selected programs at the local level.
  8. MACo opposes any legislative consideration to mandate county reorganization and/or consolidation in light of existing statutory authority for local citizens to undertake, by petition, county reorganization and/or consolidation.
  9. MACo supports the inclusion of county election administrators, clerk & recorders, and local government officials in reviewing and choosing new elections equipment and voter database systems.
  10. MACo supports county governments being able to use cooperative purchasing contracts let by a public procurement unit or joint or multiparty contracts between public procurement units.

Committee Members

  • Jason Strouf, Chair, MACo President, LUPD Co-chair, Custer County
  • Roman Zylawy, Vice Chair, MACo 1st Vice President, Mineral County Commissioner
  • Ross Butcher, MACo 2nd Vice President, Fergus County Commissioner
  • Doug Martens, MACo Immediate Past Pres., Energy Co-chair, Rosebud County Commissioner
  • Mike McGinley, MACo Fiscal Officer, TBF Chair, Beaverhead County Commissioner
  • Denis Pitman, MACo Urban Counties Representative, Yellowstone County Commissioner
  • Larry Hendrickson, Agriculture Co-chair, Liberty County Commissioner
  • Tom Rice, Agriculture Co-chair, Beaverhead County Commissioner
  • Jim McCormick, CEDL Co-chair, Lewis & Clark County Commissioner
  • Melanie Roe, Energy Co-chair, Sweet Grass County Commissioner
  • Joette Woods, HHS Co-chair, Liberty County Commissioner
  • Kevin Krausz, JPS Co-chair, Custer County Commissioner
  • Jeff Burrows, LUPD Co-chair, Ravalli County Commissioner
  • Todd Devlin, Public Lands Co-chair, Prairie County Commissioner
  • John Ostlund, Transportation Co-chair, Yellowstone County Commissioner
  • Bill Barron, Lake County Commissioner
  • Debi Randolph, Broadwater County Commissioner
  • Josh Slotnick, Missoula County Commissioner