$80 Million in Settlement Funds

With more on the way . . .

In 2022, Montana secured $80 million for Montana from a settlement holding the nation’s three major pharmaceutical distributors (Cardinal, McKesson, and AmerisourceBergen) and Johnson & Johnson accountable for their roles in fueling the national opioid epidemic and the harm it has caused. More settlements are expected to bring in an additional estimated $30-40 million.

Funds will be allocated between the State and Local Governments with 15% to the State, 15% to local governments, and 70% to a Statewide Abatement Trust that is administered by a Trust Advisory Council comprising equal representation from the State and local governments.

This page includes resources as well as the next steps counties need to take to receive their funds.

To Summarize . . .
  • $80 million coming to Montana with more on the way
  • State = 15%
  • Local Governments = 15%
  • Statewide Abatement Trust = 70%
  • Administered by a Trust Advisory Council (State & Local Representation)
  • Here you will find help navigating these waters.

(Next Steps)

Obtaining Funding

15% Local Gov Direct Allocations

In order to receive these funds, each county must establish its account through the National Opioid Settlement Portal. Information on how to do this was sent via email from the Directing Administrator of the National Opioid Settlement Administration (BrownGreer PLC) to each county’s Authorized Official.

After creating the portal account, you will complete a payment election form and W-9 Form in the Portal. The Settlement Administration will then create payment instructions for the Settlement Fund Trustee who will then send payments to your county based on the payment instructions you enter into the portal.

Click the button below to view each county’s Authorized Official. If that information is not correct, please contact Rusty Gackle, rusty@montanaopioid.org.

Important Reminder: Only provide your information when logged into the portal and NOT via an email or telephone conversation.

Authorized Officials

70% Abatement Trust Funds

The Statewide Abatement Trust is administered by a Trust Advisory Council, comprising equal representation from the State and local governments.

Eighty percent (80%) of the Abatement Trust funds are to be allocated for use by local governments. Counties participate in the Abatement Trust and Council through “Abatement Regions” (below).

The allocation of funds for use by the Abatement Regions is based on percentages (click button below for numbers) which are derived from population and opioid impact on those regions.

Distribution of funds from the Abatement Trust will be reviewed and approved by the Trust Advisory Council based on proposals submitted through the Abatement Regions or from the State.

Before money can be distributed from the Trust, the Advisory Council must be set up. See below for next steps.

Distribution Percentages

IMPORTANT: This is the format for future settlements, which is estimated to bring in another $30-40 million.
It’s worth taking the time to follow the steps below so your county can receive funding.

(Abatement Regions)

Next Steps for Abatement Regions

Step 1 – Completed
Make Appointments to Council

Metropolitan and Multi-County regions have made their appointments to the Trust Advisory Council.

Appointed representatives are to have a background and/or experience in the fields of medicine, public health, mental health, and/or addiction.

The Metropolitan Regions were to collectively choose three members to serve on the Trust Advisory Council. They appointed the following representatives:

  • Philip A. Bain, MD FACP, Bozeman Health
  • Scott Malloy, Montana Healthcare Foundation
  • Drenda Niemann, Lewis & Clark Public Health, Health Officer & Department Director

The Multi-County Regions were to collectively choose two members to serve on the Trust Advisory Council. They appointed the following representatives:

  • Brenda Kneeland, Eastern Montana Community Mental Health Center (EMCMHC),  LCPC, LAC, CEO, Interim Chemical Dependency Program Director
  • Jake Strissel, Hill County Commissioner, Former Mental Health Behavioral Health Specialist, Former Hill County Drug Court Treatment Team Member

Step 2 – In Process
Create Governance Structure

Metropolitan and Multi County Abatement Regions must create a governance structure (the sooner the better).

  • Each Region shall create its own governance structure for the administration, management, and use of Opioid Remediation funds, to ensure all participating local governments within that Region have input and equitable representation regarding regional Opioid Remediation administration and decisions, including selection of projects to be funded from the Region’s share.
  • That governance structure shall include designation of a fiscal agent within the Region to receive and distribute Settlement Funds allocated to it.
  • NOTE: Each Region has completed the task of designating a fiscal agent.
  • The MT Opioid Abatement Trust much be informed about each region’s governance structure. Please send to info@montanaopioid.org.
  • NOTE: Regions are in the process of creating their governance structures.

(Metro Regions & Multi-County Regions)

Makeup of Abatement Regions

Multi-County Abatement Regions

The five Multi-County Abatement Regions were established based on the existing Health Planning Regions established by the Department of Public Health & Human Services.

Region 1 Counties

  • Carter County
  • Custer County
  • Daniels County
  • Dawson County
  • Fallon County
  • Garfield County
  • McCone County
  • Phillips County
  • Powder River County
  • Prairie County
  • Richland County
  • Roosevelt County
  • Rosebud County
  • Sheridan County
  • Treasure County
  • Valley County
  • Wibaux County

Region 2 Counties

  • Blaine County
  • Chouteau County
  • Glacier County
  • Hill County
  • Liberty County
  • Pondera County
  • Teton County
  • Toole County

Region 3 Counties

  • Big Horn County
  • Carbon County
  • Fergus County
  • Golden Valley County
  • Judith Basin County
  • Musselshell County
  • Petroleum County
  • Stillwater County
  • Sweet Grass County
  • Wheatland County

Region 4 Counties

  • Beaverhead County
  • Broadwater County
  • Deer Lodge County
  • Granite County
  • Jefferson County
  • Madison County
  • Meagher County
  • Park County
  • Powell County

Region 5 Counties

  • Lincoln
  • Mineral
  • Sanders
Metro Abatement Regions

The nine Metropolitan Abetment Regions consist of the counties with populations exceeding 30,000.

View 9 Metro Regions

  • Cascade County
  • Flathead County
  • Gallatin County
  • Lake County
  • Lewis & Clark County
  • Missoula County
  • Ravalli County
  • Silver Bow County
  • Yellowstone County

Click Image to Expand

Metro Abatement Regions are separate from–and NOT included in–the five Multi-County Abatement Regions.

(Watch MACo’s Townhall on Next Steps)

Virtual Townhall on Next Steps

(Watch the First Townhall Below)

First Townhall on Opioid Settlements - November 18, 2022


Primary Contact

Rusty Gackle
Department of Justice
Phone: 406-444-2026

Secondary Contact

Eric Bryson
Montana Association of Counties
Phone: 406-461-2084

Portal & Authorized Official Questions

Emily Sirney
Designated Case Manager for Montana

Allowable Uses/Local Budget Questions

Nancy Everson
Montana Association of Counties
Phone: 406-449-4360